OSX Client

Chat about anything and everything Frozen Synapse

Moderator: Admins

GingerNinja
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2010 6:35 am

OSX Client

Post by GingerNinja » Wed Apr 21, 2010 7:00 am

The Message of the Day yesterday mentioned that an OSX client is available for testing. Is that available to all and sundry yet? I'm currently switching a keyboard and mouse between computers every time I play, so I'd love to give it a try.
User avatar
Shakermaker
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2010 7:04 pm

Re: OSX Client

Post by Shakermaker » Wed Apr 21, 2010 11:58 pm

GingerNinja wrote:The Message of the Day yesterday mentioned that an OSX client is available for testing. Is that available to all and sundry yet? I'm currently switching a keyboard and mouse between computers every time I play, so I'd love to give it a try.
Omroth sent me a download link yesterday after I e-mailed him. Works like a charm :)
User avatar
Omroth
Site Admin
Posts: 1825
Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2004 7:07 pm

Re: OSX Client

Post by Omroth » Thu Apr 22, 2010 6:38 am

Hey guys.

Anyone interested in the OSX beta please email ian@mode7games.com with your cd key/username and password and I'll send you the link right over.

Ian
DukeOfEarlsfield
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2010 2:01 pm

Re: OSX Client

Post by DukeOfEarlsfield » Thu Apr 22, 2010 2:08 pm

What's the minimum spec for the OSX version? I'd love to play this game but don't want to hand over cash if my ageing mac can't run it.

I've got a 1.5ghz G4 Mac Mini with 512MB of RAM (and an onboard 64MB Radeon 9200 graphics chip). The computing equivalent of a faithful old Ford Escort that just won't break down.
User avatar
Omroth
Site Admin
Posts: 1825
Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2004 7:07 pm

Re: OSX Client

Post by Omroth » Thu Apr 22, 2010 2:23 pm

Hi DukeOfEarlsfield.

If that were a PC I would expect FS to run fine, although you'd probably have to keep it at a low resolution. Not having experience with Macs I can't say for sure with yours - I've asked our Mac guy. If anyone else here has an opinion it would be appreciated.

Ian
DukeOfEarlsfield
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2010 2:01 pm

Re: OSX Client

Post by DukeOfEarlsfield » Thu Apr 22, 2010 2:31 pm

Thanks for the reply. I suppose the big issue is probably whether it'll work on a G4 processor as well as the more modern Intel ones. If it'll work on both then I'll pay up and give it a go.

Oh, forgot to mention it's running OSX version 10.4
User avatar
mellowninja
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2010 4:34 pm
Location: Atlanta

Re: OSX Client

Post by mellowninja » Thu Apr 22, 2010 3:07 pm

Duke,

I'll try my version on my older macs and update this tonight, but it's working fine on:

Macbook Pro [first gen] Intel with 10.6.3 [2 GB RAM]

Mac Pro 2x3 GHz Quad Core Intel with 10.6.3 [8 GB RAM]

If it works on my old macs at home, it will most assuredly work on your mini. Running old G4 and G5 with both 1 and 1.5 GB RAM. No intel of course, with 10.4 as well.
DukeOfEarlsfield
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2010 2:01 pm

Re: OSX Client

Post by DukeOfEarlsfield » Thu Apr 22, 2010 3:20 pm

Excellent, cheers.

*crosses fingers*
User avatar
Omroth
Site Admin
Posts: 1825
Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2004 7:07 pm

Re: OSX Client

Post by Omroth » Thu Apr 22, 2010 5:45 pm

Hi Duke.

I've had confirmation from my Mac guy that he's run Synapse on a Mac no better than yours and it was ok.

Ian
DukeOfEarlsfield
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2010 2:01 pm

Re: OSX Client

Post by DukeOfEarlsfield » Fri Apr 23, 2010 1:21 pm

Thanks for the swift replies. I can confirm that it's running absolutely fine.
User avatar
Omroth
Site Admin
Posts: 1825
Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2004 7:07 pm

Re: OSX Client

Post by Omroth » Fri Apr 23, 2010 1:51 pm

Good stuff!
User avatar
mellowninja
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2010 4:34 pm
Location: Atlanta

Re: OSX Client

Post by mellowninja » Fri Apr 23, 2010 3:24 pm

Cool. I found it to work well on my old systems too.
gushy
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2010 12:17 pm

Re: OSX Client

Post by gushy » Thu Apr 29, 2010 12:21 pm

just had FS die on me, does the OSX client have a debug log I can send you the contents of? Would you like the contents of the OSX Problem Report?
User avatar
Omroth
Site Admin
Posts: 1825
Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2004 7:07 pm

Re: OSX Client

Post by Omroth » Thu Apr 29, 2010 12:53 pm

Hi Gushy.

Can you post here your frozenSynapse/console.log - also a brief description of what you were doing when it crashed would be extremely helpful.

Thanks,
Ian
gushy
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2010 12:17 pm

Re: OSX Client

Post by gushy » Thu Apr 29, 2010 1:00 pm

Console Log attached, I've also attached the osx problem report in case it helps.

I believe I had just pressed Prime for a second round in single player mode.
Attachments
consolelog.zip
Problem report & console log
(19.21 KiB) Downloaded 214 times
Post Reply