[BUG OR FEATURE?] Distraction

Chat about anything and everything Frozen Synapse

Moderator: Admins

LapinDuracell

[BUG OR FEATURE?] Distraction

Post by LapinDuracell » Fri Apr 23, 2010 10:37 pm

Hello,

It might have been already discussed, but I haven't found it by searching the forum.

I'm a newbie but I think this shouldn't happen : game 92417, opponent has two MGs trapped in a one door room, I have one MG in the inner corner covering the entrance to the next room. Both enters, but one is doing a chicken dance to distract me, and the other shoots. My MG hasn't even shot one bullet. How realistic is this supposed to be ?

This exploit of the targeting priority system seems pretty well known, I'd like to know if it's supposed to stay, because this is quite disappointing for a rational game...
Ze0n

Re: [BUG OR FEATURE?] Distraction

Post by Ze0n » Fri Apr 23, 2010 11:34 pm

If it's pretty well known, why not plan for it?
TheBeefiest

Post by TheBeefiest » Sat Apr 24, 2010 12:34 am

Absolutely NOT an exploit. This is the only way to enter a room where a person is sitting still. And i dont mean to sound harsh, but it was a light game, you should have seen this coming. There is a counter to it, predict which of his units will be the distraction and set him to ignore for long enough to shoot the real gunner.
JeP

Post by JeP » Sat Apr 24, 2010 8:05 am

This is just why you shouldn't stand still,
especially in a light game. This makes you
sooo predictable that the enemy can do whatever
he wants, time it perfectly, and you be able to do
nothing about it.

Plus your position in the game was far from
being perfect, a sniper alone in a room is no good,
to long to aim, and your soldier in a corner,
in front of window, by testing it you should
have seen the outcome coming.

The more you try scenarios, the better you'll be, that's all.

And for the distraction thing, it's still a risk, if you
don't predict well you opponent it can all go