Please make it possible to use the Mutators in AI Skirmish.

Chat about anything and everything Frozen Synapse

Moderator: Admins

Mimsy
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun May 29, 2011 1:36 am

Please make it possible to use the Mutators in AI Skirmish.

Postby Mimsy » Wed May 30, 2012 7:43 am

Seriously. I'm really disappointed, here. :(
User avatar
Omroth
Site Admin
Posts: 1819
Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2004 7:07 pm

Re: Please make it possible to use the Mutators in AI Skirmi

Postby Omroth » Wed May 30, 2012 1:30 pm

The slight problem is that the AI may not use them properly - however I'll look into adding them soon. For now, you may hack them in by opening the console with ` at the beginning of the turn (you may need to do this for each turn) and type any combination of the following:

Code: Select all

$gDoubleKill = true;
$gFocusAim = true;
$gMoveAndShoot = true;
User avatar
Omroth
Site Admin
Posts: 1819
Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2004 7:07 pm

Re: Please make it possible to use the Mutators in AI Skirmi

Postby Omroth » Wed May 30, 2012 1:31 pm

(Btw, if you do this in multiplayer it'll break your game - the server will notice the difference and notify us and we'll have to give you a loss. Please don't!)
Mimsy
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun May 29, 2011 1:36 am

Re: Please make it possible to use the Mutators in AI Skirmi

Postby Mimsy » Wed May 30, 2012 2:46 pm

quote="Omroth"]The slight problem is that the AI may not use them properly - however I'll look into adding them soon. For now, you may hack them in by opening the console with ` at the beginning of the turn (you may need to do this for each turn) and type any combination of the following:

Code: Select all

$gDoubleKill = true;
$gFocusAim = true;
$gMoveAndShoot = true;


Thanks and thanks. :)
User avatar
Omroth
Site Admin
Posts: 1819
Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2004 7:07 pm

Re: Please make it possible to use the Mutators in AI Skirmi

Postby Omroth » Wed May 30, 2012 3:33 pm

What am I talking about... I'll release a little download tomorrow to allow you to do this. Sorry it wasn't in the release.

Ian
Mimsy
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun May 29, 2011 1:36 am

Re: Please make it possible to use the Mutators in AI Skirmi

Postby Mimsy » Thu May 31, 2012 8:20 am

What am I talking about... I'll release a little download tomorrow to allow you to do this. Sorry it wasn't in the release.


You are a good man.
User avatar
Omroth
Site Admin
Posts: 1819
Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2004 7:07 pm

Re: Please make it possible to use the Mutators in AI Skirmi

Postby Omroth » Thu May 31, 2012 11:24 am

This is a bit more complicated than I originally thought - might take a few days to get this out.
Mimsy
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun May 29, 2011 1:36 am

Re: Please make it possible to use the Mutators in AI Skirmi

Postby Mimsy » Thu May 31, 2012 12:47 pm

What's the problem?

(Just out of curiosity, really.)
User avatar
Omroth
Site Admin
Posts: 1819
Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2004 7:07 pm

Re: Please make it possible to use the Mutators in AI Skirmi

Postby Omroth » Thu May 31, 2012 12:56 pm

Ok, managed to get this working - this is a hack until we add it properly.

1. Download:

www.omroth.com/multiplayer.cs.dso

And place it in:

frozen synapse/psychoff/gameScripts (it should overwrite something there, you may want to make a backup)


2. Start the game

3. Open the console with ` and type one or more of the following:

Code: Select all

$overrideMutVar[0] = true;
$overrideMutVar[1] = true;
$overrideMutVar[2] = true;


The first will do Double Kill, the second Focus Aim, and the third Move and Shoot.

Now single player games will have those enabled.

Let me know if that doesn't work for you.

Ian
Mimsy
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun May 29, 2011 1:36 am

Re: Please make it possible to use the Mutators in AI Skirmi

Postby Mimsy » Thu May 31, 2012 3:18 pm

I just tried. This is what I did:

After placing the file in the folder, I started the game and entered the main menu, where I opened the console and copied in "$overrideMutVar[2] = true;" and pressed "Enter". Then I closed the console again by pressing the same key I used to open it. This was supposed to activate "Move and Shoot", as far as I recall. I then started an AI Skirmish, and tested around for a while.

I honestly didn't notice any difference. The troopers still stopped to take shots at each other, regardless of weapon, as far as i could tell. :?

Did I do something wrong?
User avatar
Omroth
Site Admin
Posts: 1819
Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2004 7:07 pm

Re: Please make it possible to use the Mutators in AI Skirmi

Postby Omroth » Thu May 31, 2012 3:48 pm

in the console do:

echo($gMoveAndShoot);

It should say 1.

In Move and Shoot, you'll only keep moving if you're *not* move aiming. The AI is usually move-aiming.

Ian
Mimsy
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun May 29, 2011 1:36 am

Re: Please make it possible to use the Mutators in AI Skirmi

Postby Mimsy » Thu May 31, 2012 4:14 pm

In Move and Shoot, you'll only keep moving if you're *not* move aiming. The AI is usually move-aiming.


With that in mind, I just did a plan-preview where I had two opposing Machinegunners heading directly for one another, head-on in collision course. Everything happened fairly quickly, but it certainly didn't look to me as if either stopped to fire. It looked to me as though they kept walking towards each other while shooting, but the one hit the other fairly quickly, so it wasn't all that easy to see.

Still; it appears to have worked.
BillsterJ
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2012 12:11 am

Re: Please make it possible to use the Mutators in AI Skirmi

Postby BillsterJ » Tue Jun 05, 2012 12:14 am

I'd really appreciate a more integrated/less janky way of doing this, but I'd understand if it's way too complicated. Also, thanks for making a great game!

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot]