Windows XP with ATI : game doesn't start

Post your woes here and we will do our best to sort them out

Moderator: Admins

VKV
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jun 21, 2010 10:32 pm

Windows XP with ATI : game doesn't start

Postby VKV » Mon Jun 21, 2010 10:40 pm

Like other users who posted on this forum, the game doesn't start on my PC.
Configuration:
- Windows XP Pro, SP3
- Intel core 2 duo, E6750 @2.66GHz
- 2 GB RAM
- Radeon X1950 Pro

I have updated the ATI drivers to the latest update, 10-2_legacy_xp32-64_dd_ccc.exe, without improvement.
The game simply doesn't start, no error window.
Here is the console.log:

Code: Select all

//-------------------------- 6/7/2010 -- 22:35:53 -----
Processor Init:
   Intel (unknown, Pentium Pro/II/III family), ~2.65 Ghz
     (timed at roughly 2.65 Ghz)
   FPU detected
   MMX detected
   SSE detected
 
Math Init:
   Installing Standard C extensions
   Installing Assembly extensions
   Installing FPU extensions
   Installing MMX extensions
   Installing SSE extensions
 
Input Init:
   keyboard0 input device created.
   mouse0 input device created.
   DirectInput enabled.

Initializing chunk mappings...
   o 'TEXT' maps to TextChunk
   o 'SCHK' maps to UnknownChunk
   o 'SCHK' maps to SimChunk
Loading compiled script common/main.cs.
Loading compiled script tools/main.cs.
Loading compiled script TGB/main.cs.
--------- Parsing Arguments ---------

--------- Initializing Common ---------
Loading compiled script common/preferences/defaultPrefs.cs.
Reading Display Device information...
   Primary Display Device Found:
      Vendor Id: VEN_0000
      Device Id: DEV_0000

Using OpenGL rendering. Fullscreen: 0

Loading compiled script common/gameScripts/common.cs.
Loading compiled script common/gameScripts/audio.cs.
Loading compiled script common/gameScripts/canvas.cs.
Loading compiled script common/gameScripts/cursor.cs.
Binding server port to default IP
UDP initialized on port 0

I have also downloaded and installed a modified FrozenSynapse.exe file that you proposed in another thread, but it didn't change anything (nor the console.log file content).

VKV
User avatar
Omroth
Site Admin
Posts: 1764
Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2004 7:07 pm

Re: Windows XP with ATI : game doesn't start

Postby Omroth » Tue Jun 22, 2010 10:36 am

Hi VKV, I'm sorry you're having problems.

Could you try to locate new opengl drivers for your graphics card? These are often separate to the normal gfx card drivers. I assume you have DirectX installed.

Ian
VKV
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jun 21, 2010 10:32 pm

Re: Windows XP with ATI : game doesn't start

Postby VKV » Thu Jun 24, 2010 10:25 pm

Omroth,

Thanks for your reply. ATI doesn't post OpenGL drivers separately.
However, the AMD/ATI forums mention that the latest Catalyst 10.6 drivers are Open GL compatibility issues with older OpenGL games (see: http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview. ... rd1=opengl).

However, this is not directly applicable to my situation, as the latest catalyst for my configuration is 10.2 (it's in legacy mode now, with almost no support). I have tried the workaround proposed in the AMD forum with an older 9.8 version but it made no difference.

I don't know if it's important for you to support a wide range of graphic cards, but it looks like ATI, or at least older ATI cards are going to be a challenge as far as openGL is concerned...

Does anyone else have problems with ATI cards? Or, on the opposite, has an ATI card and the game works fine?

Thanks,
VKV
User avatar
Omroth
Site Admin
Posts: 1764
Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2004 7:07 pm

Re: Windows XP with ATI : game doesn't start

Postby Omroth » Sat Jun 26, 2010 8:54 am

Hi VKV.

ATI cards definitely do work in general. I've actually been unable to find a computer to run under a debugger which has this problem, and I have run FS on Radeon X1950s in fact... I'm at a bit of a loss to this, and I need to find the solution asap.
VKV
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jun 21, 2010 10:32 pm

Re: Windows XP with ATI : game doesn't start

Postby VKV » Sat Jun 26, 2010 12:46 pm

Omroth,

Does the content of the console log I have posted help you to understand where the problem is?
If not, I'm ready to run a modified EXE displaying more debug information. Just me let know.

VKV
User avatar
Omroth
Site Admin
Posts: 1764
Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2004 7:07 pm

Re: Windows XP with ATI : game doesn't start

Postby Omroth » Sat Jun 26, 2010 1:41 pm

Thanks VKV. The console.log doesn't help, apart from to place your problem in the general area of "this wrong opengl version problem I can't replicate on any of the computers I have access to". I'll point the graphics guy at this thread and see if he can come up with at least some useful debug info.
SF Legend
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri May 07, 2010 8:29 pm

Re: Windows XP with ATI : game doesn't start

Postby SF Legend » Sun Jun 27, 2010 8:42 pm

VKV wrote:Does anyone else have problems with ATI cards? Or, on the opposite, has an ATI card and the game works fine?

I had the same problem with my 4870 at first because I had older drivers at the time and hadn't updated for a while. Updating fixed it, but since newer drivers aren't available for your card it looks like you're stuck.
VKV
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jun 21, 2010 10:32 pm

Re: Windows XP with ATI : game doesn't start

Postby VKV » Mon Jun 28, 2010 9:33 pm

Omroth wrote:ATI cards definitely do work in general. I've actually been unable to find a computer to run under a debugger which has this problem, and I have run FS on Radeon X1950s in fact... I'm at a bit of a loss to this, and I need to find the solution asap.

Would you tell me which version of the ATI driver you were using on the machine with the X1950?
User avatar
Omroth
Site Admin
Posts: 1764
Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2004 7:07 pm

Re: Windows XP with ATI : game doesn't start

Postby Omroth » Tue Jun 29, 2010 7:59 am

I don't think I can as I've since upgraded it - it is now still ATI and I'll have a look at the version numbers.

Our graphics guy is working on a debug-exe which should hopefully give more information btw.
Magicide
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jun 27, 2010 11:37 pm

Re: Windows XP with ATI : game doesn't start

Postby Magicide » Wed Jun 30, 2010 6:16 pm

Could it be his version of windows?
User avatar
Omroth
Site Admin
Posts: 1764
Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2004 7:07 pm

Re: Windows XP with ATI : game doesn't start

Postby Omroth » Thu Jul 01, 2010 4:05 pm

Hey guys.

Could anyone who is suffering from this problem please get this file:

http://www.omroth.com/fsGFXTest.exe

Place it in frozenSynapse/ and run it, then post frozenSynapse/console.log here.

Thanks,
Ian
VKV
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jun 21, 2010 10:32 pm

Re: Windows XP with ATI : game doesn't start

Postby VKV » Tue Jul 20, 2010 10:20 am

Hi,

Here is the output. I launched the executable above. Nothing visible happened by the way.

VKV

Code: Select all

//-------------------------- 7/20/2010 -- 12:18:59 -----
Processor Init:
   Intel (unknown, Pentium Pro/II/III family), ~2.67 Ghz
     (timed at roughly 2.66 Ghz)
   FPU detected
   MMX detected
   SSE detected
 
Math Init:
   Installing Standard C extensions
   Installing Assembly extensions
   Installing FPU extensions
   Installing MMX extensions
   Installing SSE extensions
 
Input Init:
   keyboard0 input device created.
   mouse0 input device created.
   DirectInput enabled.

Initializing chunk mappings...
   o 'TEXT' maps to TextChunk
   o 'SCHK' maps to UnknownChunk
   o 'SCHK' maps to SimChunk
Loading compiled script common/main.cs.
Loading compiled script tools/main.cs.
Loading compiled script TGB/main.cs.
--------- Parsing Arguments ---------

--------- Initializing Common ---------
Loading compiled script common/preferences/defaultPrefs.cs.
Reading Display Device information...
   Primary Display Device Found:
      Vendor Id: VEN_0000
      Device Id: DEV_0000

Using OpenGL rendering. Fullscreen: 0

Loading compiled script common/gameScripts/common.cs.
Loading compiled script common/gameScripts/audio.cs.
Loading compiled script common/gameScripts/canvas.cs.
Loading compiled script common/gameScripts/cursor.cs.
Binding server port to default IP
UDP initialized on port 0
Video Init:
opengldevice::create
Creating Test Window
grabbing test window handle
Rabjerg
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 1:48 pm

Re: Windows XP with ATI : game doesn't start

Postby Rabjerg » Tue Jul 20, 2010 1:20 pm

I will attemp to run it in a virtual enviorment with XP x64, as i got a ATI card as well. It runs flawless in win7.
User avatar
Omroth
Site Admin
Posts: 1764
Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2004 7:07 pm

Re: Windows XP with ATI : game doesn't start

Postby Omroth » Wed Aug 04, 2010 3:03 pm

Can you guys who can't get FS running try running this exe in the fs dir:

http://www.chemeleon.net/TorqueGameBuilder.exe

And let me know what happens?

Thanks,
Ian
rmagro
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2010 6:25 pm

Re: Windows XP with ATI : game doesn't start

Postby rmagro » Wed Aug 11, 2010 6:27 pm

hi,

I tried running that program in the install folder, but nothing happened and frozen synapse will not start still.

any other ideas?

thanks

Return to “Technical Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users