Page 1 of 2

Riot Shields without DLC

Posted: Thu Jun 14, 2012 4:09 am
by BigJMoney
I don't know why my first post isn't appearing so I'll try once more.

When I do a skirmish setup and give one team grenade units, that team also ends up getting the same number of riot shield units for free. I do not own the DLC.

Re: Riot Shields without DLC

Posted: Wed Sep 05, 2012 2:04 pm
by sebsauvage
I confirm the problem:

    1) In skirmish generator, Shield units parameter is not available.
    2) Whatever setup you select, you end up with one Shield unit in the game even if you don't want it, which is very annoying.

missing_shield.png
Missing shield parameter
missing_shield.png (228.76 KiB) Viewed 7792 times

Re: Riot Shields without DLC

Posted: Mon Apr 15, 2013 9:02 pm
by sebsauvage
Do you intend to correct the problem ?
It is currently impossible to play with grenade unit in skirmish generator.

Did you abandon the game ?
If you do so, please opensource the server so that we can play in LAN.

Re: Riot Shields without DLC

Posted: Mon Apr 15, 2013 9:32 pm
by Paul
Thanks for bringing this to our attention; apologies for being slow to fix this.

We've made a long-term public commitment to always keep servers up for our games: we're extremely against the deactivation of game servers. This has been reiterated many times in the past but I'm happy to do so again here.

This will be fixed and patched eventually - I'm sorry that we can't get to it immediately but we will do so ASAP.

Re: Riot Shields without DLC

Posted: Sat Sep 14, 2013 5:39 pm
by philb
Does this bug occur if you've bought the Red DLC?
Or does a setting appear for the number of shield carriers in the offline skirmish generator?

Re: Riot Shields without DLC

Posted: Mon Sep 23, 2013 10:20 am
by Bin
Hi yes this has been fixed

Re: Riot Shields without DLC

Posted: Tue Sep 24, 2013 6:50 pm
by philb
Ah, then I can now decide if I actually want the Red DLC at all, or just to patch that annoying bug... or just put up with it. Hmm.

Re: Riot Shields without DLC

Posted: Wed Apr 23, 2014 6:01 pm
by philb
I've just tried starting up FS for the first time in ages. Logged in in the vague hope that this bug might have been fixed and it doesn't seem to have been.

Is anything happening in FS land...?

Re: Riot Shields without DLC

Posted: Tue Oct 21, 2014 7:09 pm
by philb
...any signs of life? :(

Re: Riot Shields without DLC

Posted: Sun Oct 26, 2014 3:49 pm
by sebsauvage
Any hope to see this bug corrected one day ? :cry:

We still cannot use the grenade unit in Skirmish.

Re: Riot Shields without DLC

Posted: Mon Dec 08, 2014 9:07 pm
by sebsauvage
Oh... Frozen Synapse Prime is out.

...still no hope to see the bug corrected in the original Frozen Synapse ? We still can't use the grenade unit.

Re: Riot Shields without DLC

Posted: Tue Dec 09, 2014 11:26 am
by Space Voyager
Word is that Prime only has a nicer façade, the bugs remain. I haven't tried it though.

Re: Riot Shields without DLC

Posted: Tue Dec 09, 2014 11:48 am
by philb
Space Voyager wrote:Word is that Prime only has a nicer façade, the bugs remain. I haven't tried it though.

I found the interface of FS Prime more difficult to get on with.
But still *very* disappointed about the lack of any obvious fixes for FS. It's fine that there are no new features, but obvious bugs should be remedied.

Re: Riot Shields without DLC

Posted: Wed Dec 10, 2014 9:45 am
by Space Voyager
One would hope so...

Frankly as far as the planning goes, the minimalistic approach of original FS is the best option. I wouldn't mind seeing the resolution (the actual one, not the planning replays) with a nicer interface.

Re: Riot Shields without DLC

Posted: Sun Jan 11, 2015 12:10 am
by philb
Any progress on this, please, mode7?